Frequent Runner Championship

Frequent Runner Championship

See the latest leaderboards here



The Frequent Runner Championship is aimed at rewarding trainers who run horses regularly at Jockey Club Racecourses in the South West Region, namely, Cheltenham, Exeter, Warwick and Wincanton. Tables at The Festival are open to trainers from both large and small yards.  There are two categories with one for trainers who have more than 40 horses in training and one for trainers with 40 or below from totals registered in November.  The Championship for the 2017/2018 season will start at Cheltenham on Friday 27th October and will include all races up to and including the last day of the season at Warwick on 30th May 2017 (excluding The Festival and Hunter Chases).  All qualifying races are allocated a star rating (* to *****) with trainers awarded full points (star rating) for their first runner and half points for additional runners in the same race. 

These are based on the average numbers of runners a race has attracted over the previous two or three years as follows:

1 star - 17 plus runners

2 stars - 15-17

3 stars - 12-15

4 stars – 8-12

5 stars – less than 8

The star ratings for each qualifying race are marked with the race conditions.

Frequent Runner Prizes at The Festival 2018

After the meeting at Exeter 11th February 2017, the top six trainers in the above 40 category and the top two in the 40 or less category will each win an all expenses table for 10 on one day at The Festival. Any points awarded after this date will count towards the final scoring at the end of the JCR South West Jumps season. 

Star Ratings 

The star ratings for each of the Cheltenham races can be seen online here, the ratings for the other participating tracks are as below:

  Wincanton Exeter Warwick
Handicap Chase 5 4 5
Novice Handicap Chase 5 5 5
Handicap Hurdle 4 4 4
Novice Handicap Hurdle 4 4 3
Maiden Hurdle 3 3 1
Novice Hurdle 5 5 5
Novice Chase 5 5 5
Bumper 4 4 4
Graded Hurdle 5 5 5
Graded Chase 3 5 4

 The conditions of the races appearing here are subject to alteration before closing. The final conditions will appear in the relevant Racing Calendar and on this site in advance of the closing date. 

Recent Results - As of 10/11/2017

Leading Owner

Owner Win Place
Mr John P. McManus 4 1
Paul & Clare Rooney 2 3
Mr Simon Munir & Mr Isaac Souede 2 1
The Exmoor Partners 2  
Brocade Racing 1 2
Walters Plant Hire Ltd 1 2
Mr J. F. Panvert 1 1
Mills & Mason Partnership 1 1
Mr Alex James & Mr B. J. Llewellyn 1 1
Mr D. V. Gardner 1  

Leading Trainer - Less than 40 horses

Owner Win Place
Mr J. R. M. Scott 2 1
Mrs S. Gardner 2 1
Mr M. H. Keighley 2 1
Mr R. Walford 2 1
Mr C. R. P. Williams 2  
Mr J. E. Snowden 1 3
Mr J. Farrelly 1 1
Mr D. R. Dennis 1 1
B. J. Llewellyn 1 1
Mr N. J. Hawke 1  

Leading Trainer - 40+ horses

Trainer Win Place
P. F. Nicholls 6 7
Mr N. A. Twiston-Davies 5 6
C. L. Tizzard 4 12
Mr D. N. Skelton 3 4
Alan King 3 4
J. J. O'Neill 3 2
P. J. Hobbs 2 6
H. T. B. Fry 2 2
Mr F. M. O'Brien 1 5
Mr C. E. Longsdon 1 4
To get the best possible user experience on our website please enable JavaScript