The McCoys

Recognising Jump Racing brilliance across The Jockey Club

The McCoys Jockey Club Jumps Awards

Following the success of the first ever McCoys South West Jump Awards that were hosted at Cheltenham Racecourse on Friday 29th September 2017, we saw the second celebration on Friday 28th September 2018. The awards celebrated the outstanding contributions to the sport, involving all Jockey Club Jumps Racecourses during the 2017/18 season..

The evening celebrated all that is great about racing within the South West, and ended with thoughts turning to future stars and performances. Course favourites, The Chip Shop Boys finished the show off in true Cheltenham style with a dance floor full of racing fans fuelled by excitement for the year ahead.

The awards are named The McCoys after Sir AP McCoy, the record-breaking 20-time champion Jump jockey who retired from race riding in April 2015. The awards will reflect on the triumphs and the highlights of the season and appreciate every character in the sport. From the unwavering support of owners to the often unsung dedication of stable staff, The McCoys exist to recognise the individuals without whom this sport would not prosper as it does.

Be it horses, stable staff, trainers or owners, these awards seek to reflect and celebrate outstanding contributions to our sport across The Jockey Club racecourses during the 2017/18 season.

View highlights from The McCoys 2017

The McCoys 2018 WINNERS:

Frequent Runner Award, Sponsored by Equitrek

The Frequent Runner Championship is aimed at rewarding trainers who run horses regularly at Jockey Club Racecourses in the South West Region. There are two categories with one for trainers who have more than 40 horses in training and one for trainers with 40 or below from totals registered in November.  

Jeremy Scott (Less than 40)

Colin Tizzard (More than 40)

Leading Owner, Sponsored by Bentley

Recognising two owners who are committed to running horses and winning at Jockey Club Racecourses during the season. Awarded to leading owner with four or more horses in training and leading owner with less than four horses in training.

John McManus (Four or more)

John White & Anne Underhill (Three and less)

Leading Trainer, Sponsored by Beach Independent

Recognising two trainers who run their horses at Jockey Club Racecourses during the season. Awarded to the leading trainer with 40 or more horses in training and the leading trainer with less than 40 horses in training.

Mr Chester Williams (Less than 40)

Charlie Morlock (More than 40)

Leading Jockey, Sponsored by Brewin Dolphin

A new era dawns for Jockeys as every title is sure to be hotly contested and eminently winnable. Points are awarded for wins at all Jockey Club Racecourses with three categories: Professional, Conditional and Amateur.

Harry Skelton (Professional)

James Bowen (Conditional)

Lorcan Williams (Amateur)

Horses of the Season, Novice Hurdler & Hurdler, Sponsored by NAF

Recognising outstanding equine achievements across The Jockey Club. Points are awarded for wins at Jockey Club Racecourses for Novice Hurdler and Hurdler.

Apple Shakira - John McManus (Novice Hurdler)

Starfoot - John Marriott (Hurdler)

Horses of the Season, Novice Chaser & Chaser, Sponsored by UBS

Recognising outstanding equine achievements across The Jockey Club. Points are awarded for wins at Jockey Club Racecourses for Novice Chaser and Chaser.

Cyrname - Johnny De La Hey (Novice Chaser)

Politologue - John Hales (Chaser)

Judges Choice Award, Sponsored by WO Lewis

Tiger Roll 

Pony Racing Achievement of the Season, Sponsored by Winner Events

Clarissa Daly

Racing Ride of the Season, Sponsored by Natural Green

Patrick Mullins 

Horse Performance of the Season, Sponsored by Rosconn Group

Native River

Horse of the Season, Sponsored by Shloer

Might Bite

Stable Person of the Year, Sponsored by Racing Post

Kate Robinson

Outstanding Contribution Award, Sponsored by Dodson & Horrell 

Recognising a horse, or person that has made an outstanding contribution to the Jump season. 

Andrew Thornton

To get the best possible user experience on our website please enable JavaScript